Books by Candice Carty-Williams

Queenie (Trapeze, 2019)

Queenie Jenkins can’t cut a break. Well, apart from the one from her long term boyfriend, Tom. That’s definitely just a break though. Definitely not a break up. Then there’s her boss who doesn’t seem to see her and her Caribbean family who don’t seem to listen (if it’s not Jesus or water rates, they’re not interested). She’s trying to fit in two worlds that don’t really understand her. It’s no wonder she’s struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on life, love, race and family, Queenie will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity, and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way.

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Elizabeth Day, Sally Rooney and Diana Evans, and anyone who loved Fleabag.

‘Candice Carty-Williams is a fantastic new writer who has written a deliciously funny, characterful, topical and thrilling novel for our times’ Bernardine Evaristo, author of Girl, Woman, Other    

‘A really special book with much to say about black female identity, sexual politics, group chats & emotional becoming in a way that feels totally unforced. Filthy, funny & profound’ Sharlene Teo, author of Ponti

‘Hilarious, compelling, painful, enlightening, honest. I loved it’ Dolly Alderton, author of Everything I Know About Love

‘This is an amazing novel about what it means to be a black girl whose world is falling apart and needs to find the strength to put it back together’ Roxane Gay, author of Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body

  • Number 2 Sunday Times Bestseller
  • Shortlisted for the Waterstones Book of the Year 2019
  • Shortlisted for Foyles Book of the Year 2019
About Candice Carty-Williams