Books by Candice Carty-Williams

Queenie (Trapeze, 2019)

Queenie Jenkins can’t cut a break. Well, apart from the one from her long term boyfriend, Tom. That’s definitely just a break though. Definitely not a break up. Then there’s her boss who doesn’t seem to see her and her Caribbean family who don’t seem to listen (if it’s not Jesus or water rates, they’re not interested). She’s trying to fit in two worlds that don’t really understand her. It’s no wonder she’s struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on life, love, race and family, Queenie will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity, and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way.

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Elizabeth Day, Sally Rooney and Diana Evans, and anyone who loved Fleabag.

‘Candice Carty-Williams is a fantastic new writer who has written a deliciously funny, characterful, topical and thrilling novel for our times’ Bernardine Evaristo, author of Girl, Woman, Other    

‘A really special book with much to say about black female identity, sexual politics, group chats & emotional becoming in a way that feels totally unforced. Filthy, funny & profound’ Sharlene Teo, author of Ponti

‘Hilarious, compelling, painful, enlightening, honest. I loved it’ Dolly Alderton, author of Everything I Know About Love

‘This is an amazing novel about what it means to be a black girl whose world is falling apart and needs to find the strength to put it back together’ Roxane Gay, author of Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body

  • Number 2 Sunday Times Bestseller
  • Shortlisted for Waterstones Book of the Year 2019
  • Shortlisted for Foyles Book of the Year 2019
  • Shortlisted for Costa First Novel Award 2019
  • Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020
  • Longlisted for the Jhalak Prize 2020

Empress & Aniya (Knights Of) 2021

The first YA novel from the bestselling author of Queenie! When Empress starts at Aniya’s school, they’re not exactly best friends. But, when the two teenage girls accidentally cast a spell on their 16th birthday and end up switching bodies, they quickly learn that friendship is the most important magic of all. South London’s answer to ‘Freaky Friday’, Empress and Aniya is a moving portrayal of the importance of real friendship and the ups and downs of being a teenager.

“Honest, funny and heartbreaking, and uplifting all at once!” – Tanya Byrne.

“A genuine joy to read” – Bethany Rutter

“Candice has once again created characters that have been written with such sweet warmth and bitter truth that you cannot help but embrace them through the pages” – Clara Amfo

Empress & Aniya dazzles in three colours: pink, independent bookshop exclusive in orange, and the signed blue edition exclusive to Waterstones.